Sunday is hockey day at my house. I always feel like the Kid needs a slightly heartier breakfast when he is going to be skating his little tush off for 45 minutes and I am trying to stay away from the same old same old. He asked for pancakes last weekend and I was wondering if I could find something more creative than just regular pancakes. I had some walnuts left over from an awesome beet salad from earlier that week and a few apples in the fridge. Apple pie pancakes! Yes. Yes.

vegan spelt apple pie pancakes

They were even more amazingly delicious than they look in this photo. Something about the combination of the warm, soft, cinnamon scented apples with the crunchy and toasty walnuts over the soft and fluffy pancakes. Yup. Kitchen win over here. I needed a basic vegan pancake recipe so I modified this one.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup spelt flour
1 tablespoon coconut sugar
2 tablespoons baking powder  ( I know this sounds ridiculous but trust me, have faith)
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 cup almond milk or other milk alternative
2 tablespoons avocado oil
2 apples, sliced thin
1/2 cup walnuts
Earth Balance
Cinnamon to taste
Here’s what you do:
Apples and Walnuts:
Add some Earth Balance (1-2 Tbsp) to a hot pan. Once melted, add the walnuts and cook for a minute or two. Add the apple slices and cinnamon (approx 1 tsp or more if you love cinnamon) and saute over med-high heat until the apples are slightly softened, about 5 minutes. Set aside.
Mix the try ingredients. Mix the wet. Add the wet to the dry and mix. It will get super airy and puff up a ton. Just mix it again right before you pour it. If it starts to puff up again (think bread proofing and rising) just mix it again and it will fall. Scoop 1/2 to 1 cup of mix into a hot pan (I oil the pan with earth balance but you could use oil too I think) and cook as you would any pancake. You need a hot-ish pan and you have to wait until the pancakes bubble towards the middle before you turn them. Pancakes can be fickle little buggers and I think everybody has burned a few in their days. Don’t get too annoyed. This recipe will make at least 6 decent sized pancakes.
Serve the pancakes with the apple and walnut mixture on top and a heavy drizzle of Pure Maple Syrup. Please god to not think that Aunt Jemima is an acceptable substitute. Sacrilege!!!!

 

