I am always on the hunt for new recipes. Especially ones that seem pretty straight fowrad and easy. If I think the Kid AND the Hubs will eat it, I’m all in. When I came across this recipe on a very cute/funny site for Vegan Mushroom Pie I though, okay, who wouldn’t want pie for dinner!? While making the recipe I realized that the instructions are a bit lacking so I wouldn’t suggest using their instructions to be honest. That being said, the pie was a HUGE hit. The kid wasn’t feeling well but I suspect he would have gobbled it up otherwise and Hubs ate about half and took the leftovers for lunch. I’d say that’s a win. Plus I learned something new. Tenderflake puff pastry is accidentally vegan!  Because who are we kidding, I’m sure that was not their intention. Nice bonus though! I’m sure all the Oreo fans out there would agree that sometimes the accidentally vegan items are super awesome. I’m not an Oreo kinda girl but I do see the appeal. Here’s how mine turned out. Not too shabby for a first try I would say.

vegan mushroom pie

mushroom pie dinner

 

I decided to make pan fried potatoes and some roasted asparagus but honestly anything would pair well with this. Broccoli or carrots would be nice or a big green salad or some steamed garlic kale…..mmmmm kale…… Anyways, so just go for it. Plus, you can buy the crust, so it’s SUPER easy to make. Enjoy!!!

Here’s what you need:

1 oz dried mushrooms

1 TBSP EVOO

2 Large Portobello Caps brushed and diced small

2 Cloves garlic minced (or just buy the crushed kind like I do and use about a TBSP or more depending on your preference)

1/2 Large White Onion diced small

1/2 Cup of left over re-hydration liquid from the dried mushrooms

2 TBSP Earth Balance or other vegan margarine

2 TBSP flour (chickpea, or whatever you have on hand really)

1 Tsp Oregano

1 Tsp Thyme

Salt and Pepper to taste

3/4 of a package of frozen puff pastry, completely thawed (this is key!)

 

Here’s what you do:

Preheat your oven to 350.

Place your dried mushrooms in a glass bowl and just cover with very hot water. Approximately a cup. Meanwhile, get your EVOO going in a pan over medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic and cook for about 5 minutes or until they just start to become translucent. The dried mushrooms should have soaked for about 15 minutes and then you can chop them up. They can stay larger than the diced ones but I wouldn’t leave them huge. Add all the mushrooms to the pan with 1/2 cup of the liquid from the dried mushrooms and your spices and stir occasionally for approximately 10 minutes or until most of the liquid is gone. While they are cooking, spray a glass pie dish with cooking spray and roll out your puff pastry on a lightly dusted surface. cover the bottom of your dish with one half of the pastry and then roll out about half of the rest of what you have or the whole thing if you want to completely cover the pie. I made a lattice so I didn’t need the whole rest of the package. But if you cover the whole pie remember to add knife slits on top to let the air out. Or kaboom.

After the 10 minutes, add the Earth Balance and Flour and stir to thicken. Remove from heat.

Pour your mushroom mix into your pie dish and add whatever top you are going to do. Lattice or full pie crust on top. Either will be awesome. Bake for 40-45 minutes and remove and let sit for 5 minutes. The fill is HOT. So eat with care. But eat eat eat!!! So good. Enjoy.

