So let me first say that I’m not a huge fan of donuts. I would pretty much choose any pastry over a donut. There are good vegan donuts, great ones even. I like Mighty-O’s but then I have to drive all the way to Seattle and no donut is worth a two hour drive. Actually, I would like to restate that, there is now a donut that is worth a two hour drive. Cartems Donuterie in Vancouver is beyond words. Let me instead show you some photos and then try to do them justice with a short spiel about how amazing they are and why

cartems donuteriecartems donut

Okay so that little beauty up there. With the flowers on it. That was the vegan one. I’m not going to lie, all the other ones were not, but honestly, who cares. Look. At. That. Donut. I believe it was a Earl Grey and it was ridiculous. Unlike most vegan donuts, it was light and fluffy and had a sweet but not cloyingly sweetness to it. The rose petals (which I hate) did not lend any rose-y flavours thank goodness and it was just perfect. They also had Gluten Free AND Vegan ones but since I don’t have a gluten intolerance I didn’t go that route, but there is something for everyone. The Kid that the chocolate one with the little balls (Triple Chocolate Threat) and HOOVERED it in about two minutes flat and the Hubs pretty much ate all the other ones. No seriously. He had three. I took a tiny bite of the powered sugar one that was stuffed with real blueberries and was amazing as well. The salted caramel one was also pretty sick and he was all over the bacon one. Barf. Whatever.

What I also loved and appreciated was the locally sourced and mainly organic ingredients. LOVE. I think we will be weekly visitors now. Might have to start biking there to negate the calories of course…..

