Okay yes, I have been MIA for a while but I’m back and have an AWESOME recipe for you! Look at this bad boy!!! Friends again?

vegan cupcake cones

Looks like an ice cream cone right? Wrong! It’s a cupcake! I saw a recipe for this ages ago and thought it was just the cutest party idea ever. We had planned for a bbq that got a bit weathered out by the recent wonky weather here in the Pacific Northwest so we just had a few friends over with kids the same age as The Kid. I figured I would make these and see if they were decent. I may have made a bit of a misstep by putting them in the fridge after I made them but I was a bit scared the vegan butter cream would start to melt. I think next time I would just wait until the very last minute to ice them because the cones were not crispy at all and it lended them an odd texture. The cupcake part and icing were great though and I would make these again in a heartbeat!

Here’s What You Need:

Basic Vegan Cupcakes:
1 cup almond milk (I used vanilla because that’s what I had)
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
3/4 cup coconut sugar
1/3 cup mild oil (avocado would be good but any veg oil would work too)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

2-3 tablespoons of sprinkles if you want to make them “funfetti” cupcakes which is what I did.

4-5 tablespoons of vegan chocolate chips to sprinkle in the bottom of the cones (why leave this step out!)

Here’s What You Do:

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix the almond milk and vinegar to make buttermilk. Mix the dry ingredients together. Add the oil, vanilla and sugar to the “buttermilk” and then slowly stir into the dry ingredients until combined. Add the sprinkles if you want and then drop a tsp or so of chocolate chips into the bottom of each cone. Stand the cones in a regular muffin tin and fill each with the batter (I poured the batter into a spouted measuring cup for easier pouring) until almost full.

Bake in the middle rack for 20 minutes or so. Test them at 18 minutes to see if a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a rack until completely cool. Make your favorite vegan butter cream icing. Vanilla or chocolate or both and ice them to look like ice cream. sprinkle more sprinkles on top if you like or add a drizzle of melted chocolate.  YUM.

