The only thing I really miss (A LOT) is tuna salad sandwiches. I don’t even know why really. I really hated anything “fishy” when I was a kid, but there was something about a homemade tuna salad sandwich that really did it for me. Nostalgia maybe, but I do miss them. Well, I did anyways until I came across this recipe for Mock Tuna Salad. The gates of heaven opened and I heard the angels sing. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh.

Look!

mock tuna salad

Now wait a minute you are yelling! That’s just smushed chickpeas. Oh no my friend. It is just SO much more than that. It actually tastes like tuna salad!! (mostly anyways). It totally gives me that fix I need and let’s face it, this is wayyyyyy better for you than traditional tuna salad. Plus there the whole thing of not having to kill tunas. So there’s that. It really is yummy and you must try it.

Here’s what you need:

    • 1(15 oz.) can chick-peas, drained (or 1.5 cups cooked)

 

  • 1/4 cup vegan mayonnaise
    • 1/3 cup minced celery

 

    • 2.5 Tbsp minced dill pickle (one smallish pickle)

 

    • 1/2 Tbsp nutritional yeast

 

    • 1 green onion, chopped

 

    • 1 tsp soy sauce

 

    • 1/2 tsp kelp powder (or since nobody on earth likely has this, use minced seaweed snacks! This is a must. It provides that “fishy” ish taste that mock tuna really needs to have to be called mock tuna!)

 

  • salt and pepper to taste

Here’s what you do:

Mash the chickpeas (which can be annoying and time consuming, so toss them and pulse in a food processor if you’re lazy like me) and add the rest of the ingredients and stir all together. Eat as a sandwich, stuff into a tomato or use to top a nice green leafy salad. YUM.

