First let me say that I am fully aware that my Hubs often eats my vegan food and chokes it back and smiles and says, “um ya, it’s not bad” which I know is code for “okay, I have to eat this because she will get mad if I don’t, but this is so not my thing”. Gotta love him for it. Can’t win’em all right? These brownies on the other hand? He took one and started eating it and then slowly turned to me, looked at me and deadpanned said, “these aren’t vegan are they?” Yes silly meatatarian!! Of course they are!!!

I have said this over and over again that baking vegan treats is the easiest thing to do. There are such good products on the market these days that make it super easy to recreate traditional baked goods loaded with eggs and butter in a vegan way. These are a prime example.

chocolate covered marshmallow brownies

I will take this opportunity to remind everybody that vegan does NOT always mean healthy! I did use white flour and white sugar (be sure to check and make sure that your sugar is not processed with bone char as that is most definitely NOT vegan!)

Hubs was happy to point out that these are officially the yummiest vegan treat I have ever made. I think I have to agree. The chew that the marshmallow bits provide and the tiny crunch from the sprinkles (they were not in the recipe but I was taking them to an end of the year preschool party so I figured why not add more sugar ha!). I think I will make these again (and again and again and again) and maybe try to put them on a stick since they would make pretty neat looking brownie pops!

You MUST MAKE THESE BROWNIES!!!!!! Thank you to the Tolerant Vegan for this wicked recipe. I don’t think The Hubs will want any other treat ever again.

Here’s what you need:

  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons ground flax ( I left this out and I don’t think it made any difference!)
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (unbleached is always best)
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 7 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup vegan semisweet chocolate chips (Enjoy Life was my brand of choice here)
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup boiling water
  • 1 1/2 cups refined sugar
  • 3/4 cup non-hydrogenated vegan butter substitute (I used Earth Balance)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup roughly chopped vegan marshmallows (I used Dandies)

Chocolate Coating:

  • 2 cups vegan semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable shortening (I also omitted this and I don’t think it had a negative impact at all
  • Vegan sprinkles

Here’s what you do!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and move your oven rack to the lowest position. If using the flax, stir it with the water and set aside.

Line an 8” square baking dish (mine was glass) with parchment paper, allowing the paper to rise over the sides of the pan to make it easier to remove the brownies from the pan once they are cooled.

Whisk together the all-purpose flour and baking soda in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, stir together the cocoa, chocolate chips and salt.

Pour the boiling water into the bowl of chocolate and stir continuously until all chocolate chips are melted.

Continue to stir while adding in the sugar, vegan butter substitute , vanilla and flax + water combo (if you are using it).

Stir in the flour + baking soda mixture until all ingredients are fully combined. The batter will become very thick. You will need to put a bit of muscle into it.

Add in the chopped marshmallows and continue to stir.

Pour the batter into a baking dish.

Use your fingers or a spatula to spread the batter evenly in the pan.

Bake the brownies for 35 minutes or until a toothpick can be inserted and come back out clean.

Transfer the brownies in the pan to a wire rack and allow the brownies to cool in the pan for about an hour.

Lift the parchment paper to remove the brownies from the pan, and allow them to continue to cool on a wire rack until completely cool. Make sure that they’ve fully cooled down before moving on.

While the brownies are still on the parchment paper, place them in the freezer for 30-40 minutes, until they are firm.

Remove the brownies and cut into bars or any other shape that tickles your fancy!

Line a baking sheet with wax paper.

Place the chocolate chips and shortening (if you are using it) in a microwave-safe bowl and microwave in 20-30 seconds increments, stirring each time you remove them, until it’s smooth and melted.

Lift the brownie with your fork and dip into the chocolate and you might need to flip it over to get both sides covered.

Allow the excess chocolate to drip back into the bowl.

Place the brownie on the wax paper and sprinkle with well, sprinkles.

Let them stand until the chocolate sets.

Store in an airtight container out or in the fridge if you prefer a slightly firmer exterior.

Make sure you eat one before you serve these, or you won’t get one. For REALS.

