So to cap off our family vacation in southern California we spent a weekend at my sister’s house near Burbank. One of her favorite places for brunch is Bea Bea’s. I had been there once before with her and the Kid and remembered it being pretty great, plus they had vegan pancakes. Don’t have to ask me twice.

The awesome thing about the menu is that any of the dishes (pancakes) could be made with the vegan pancake batter! There are like a trillion to choose from (okay, like a dozen) and they all looked SO good. Now I didn’t ask, but I am going to make an educated guess that the ones with super heavy dairy based toppings don’t actually work as vegan dishes. But there were so many that would work that it wasn’t really a big deal.

I decided on the apple cobbler vegan pancakes and they were ginormous and really tasty!!!

beabeas vegan pancakes

The Kid got the french toast (bigger than his head!) and the Hubs got some meaty thing with a side of french toast and everybody was pretty pleased with their dishes. They were also super kid friendly with colouring available and very reasonably priced options for the wee ones.

I do find that this is a major problem in Canada. Very few restaurants have kid’s menus and or kid’s sized portions available. My son is four. He is not a big enough eater to justify ordering him is own entree, however, he is big enough that I don’t want to share with him.

Canadian restauranteurs? If you’re listening, please add a kids menu. PLEASE.

Anyways, it was a super busy spot but it was worth the wait. Will go back to try the pumpkin pancakes. Yum…

