The Hubs loves his risotto. Cheese? Good. Rice? Good. He is not a complicated man. Luckily this little gem caught my eye and I knew that I could kill this. And I did. It was SO good. Now the recipe was just okay. It was missing info and the amounts of the broth were wayyy off. Now that could have just been me, but I am going to give you more detailed instructions in case you are a risotto virgin like myself. I also added edammame because, well, why not! Plus a little kick of added protein never hurt anybody. I also used chickpea flour and my version is also gluten free. Woo woo.

vegan risotto

My Vegan Spring Risotto

1 tsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 C. White Onion, Diced

2 Cloves Garlic, Minced

1¼ C. Asparagus Tips and Middles, Chopped

1¼ C. Portabella Mushrooms, Chopped

2½ Tbsp. Fresh Curled Parsley, Minced (I forgot this….oops)

1 Tbsp. Chickpea Flour

1 Tbsp. Fresh Lemon Juice

½ tsp. Lemon Zest

1½ C. Non-Dairy Milk (I used unflavoured almond milk)

1 C. Arborio Rice (risotto rice)

4 C. Vegetable Broth

1/2 C Frozen Edammae

Salt to Taste

⅛ tsp. Black Pepper

⅛ tsp. White Pepper

Instructions
  1. Heat oil in a large rimmed pan over medium heat and add the onions  and saute until they turn slightly clear (approx. 3-4 mins.)
  2. Next, add in the garlic and saute for an additional minute over medium heat. Then place the asparagus and mushrooms into the pan with approximately half a cup of your stock and warm it for 3-5 minutes or until the mushrooms have reduced in size.
  3. Stir in the parsley and flour until there are no dry chunks in the pan.
  4. Pour the lemon juice, lemon zest, non-dairy milk and rice into the pan and bring to a boil.
  5. Place the rest of your stock in a pot and heat until it is just before boiling.
  6. Cook and stir until almost all of the liquid is gone, then gradually add in the rest of the vegetable broth, a cup at a time until the rice has soaked up most of it. This will take roughly 18-20 minutes and you may need to add more vegetable broth/water. YOU NEED TO REDUCE THE TEMP that you are cooking at so that your dish doesn’t burn. I had to play with it, but you can go with medium to the high side of medium as a general rule of thumb.
  7. Add the edammame with your last half cup of broth. Just needs to warm through.
  8. Add the pepper, salt and white pepper to taste, serve warm.

 

