So this recipe caught my eye and I figured it would really appeal to the Hubs. I didn’t really like bacon all that much when I was a kid but figured the Avocado, Tomato and Lettuce Sandwiches I love so much might be kicked up a notch with these bad boys. I was right. Oh… was I right. So the only difference was that I used thinly sliced portabello mushrooms versus her suggestions of shitake mushrooms. Mostly because I can’t fathom where on earth you can find massive mutant shitake mushrooms that would actually work with this recipe. But if you can, do it! Also, the amount of marinade was not even remotely close enough to what I needed. I think I probably quadrupled this recipe! But hey, sometimes you just have to wing it!! Have a looky. I also found (locally, which doesn’t happen all that often in our little Vancouver suburb) some amazing 100% rye bread. I would have just eaten that and the “bacon”. SO good. Which would make this vegan and gluten free I believe. Sourdough would have been awesome too.

vegan bacon

I also added some chunky baked sweet potato fries to make it a full dinner. It was a success with the Hubs and the Kid. Yay me.

This would be amazing chopped up on split pea soup or in a vegan quiche, or even in a tofu scramble for breaky. Major success. Thanks Olives For Dinner.

Ingredients:
1 TB olive oil
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp liquid smoke
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp smoked paprika (optional)
2 cups shiitake or portabello mushroom caps, sliced thinly

***Remember, I needed about four times this amount for about 1.5 sliced portabello mushroom caps.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Cover a baking sheet with a silpat or wax paper and set aside.

Combine all of the ingredients except for the sliced mushrooms into a shallow glass pyrex or bowl. Whisk to combine.

Add in the sliced mushrooms, and stir gently to combine. Allow to marinate for 20 minutes to an hour.

Place the mushrooms in a single layer onto the silpat. Bake for 10 minutes, flip, then bake for an additional 15 minutes. Increase the heat to 375, then bake for 10 minutes more. Flip, then finish for 10 more minutes. Keep an eye on them towards the end to ensure they do not burn.

Remove from the oven and place on paper towels to drain. As they drain, the edges will become crispy. Serve immediately.

I had my doubts based on how they seemed while cooking that they would be firm or crispy at all, but they totally were!!!

Layer up with some good bread and some lettuce, tomato and avocado and some vegan mayo of your liking.

