I’ve been searching for decent, healthy-ish vegan options for Passover. If you are at all familiar with Passover food, you are currently laughing/scoffing and or wondering if I’m just a little bit meshuga (crazy).

Passover food has a LOT of eggs. A LOT. But I’m on a mission. I’m going to do it! And since I could just eat dessert for the rest of my life I decided to test run these vegan macaroons from my BFF’s blog. The Kid has eaten about half a dozen already today. I refuse to feel bad. They really are about as healthy as you are going to get in a cookie! And he did help me make them. They were so easy he probably could have done it himself.

Plus I actually had all these things in my pantry already. That really doesn’t happen very often. It was meant to be! Now if only somebody out there would make a really tasty vegan egg noodle…

vegan gluten free coconut macaroon

Here’s what you need/do:

1 cup unsweetened coconut milk (not light)
⅓ cup honey or agave nectar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
¼ cup potato starch
3 cups unsweetened medium or finely shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.

In a medium bowl, blend coconut milk, honey and vanilla until well combined. Add potato starch a little at a time, beating to combine. Fold in the coconut.

Drop batter by level tablespoons onto prepared baking sheet at least half an inch apart. Using your fingers or the back of two soup spoons, press each mound of batter upward into a cone-like shape.

Bake in preheated oven on center rack until firm and lightly golden, about 20 minutes. Cool before eating. Store in the refrigerator.

