I was at YYZ with my cousin waiting for our flight home last week and decided to just get something for dinner before we boarded as Air Canada often doesn’t have the ONE veg option available by the time they get to my row. I decided that the vegetarian panani at Boccone Trattoria. It was seriously awesome. It was stuffed with nicely roasted veggies and a super thin chickpea fritter/cutlet of some sort. I love me a good sandwich so this was perfect! I thought it was so good I had to try to remake it at home. Here’s my version.

vegan grilled veggie panini

I made the chickpea fritters with this recipe:

  • 2 (19 ounce) cans chickpeas (19-oz! Two 15-oz cans won’t be enough. Unless you get another 8-oz can to throw in there too.)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic or more if that’s how you roll
  • 1 teaspoon tahini
  • 2 tablespoons parsley flakes (didn’t have this, so just left it out. It was fine)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 dash curry powder
  • 1/2 cup besan/chickpea flour
  • EV olive oil, for frying

Rinse and drain the chickpeas, then put them in a large mixing bowl. Mash them up with a potato masher. There should still be some whole ones in there.

Note: you can use a food processor this, but it did not work for me. I ended up using the back of a fork as apparently we do not own a potato masher.

Blend the chickpeas with the garlic and tahini.

Add all the spices and meld together.

Fold in the flour and mix together.

Let the mixture sit for about 15-20 minutes in the fridge.

With your hands, form 2″ balls and flatten into discs. There should be about 12-15  or so depending on how you make them.

Fry in the olive oil about 4-5 minutes on each side.

For my veggies I used one red and one yellow pepper cut into four. One large zucchini sliced thick and one red onion also sliced into thick strips. I tossed with EVOO and a good balsamic and added salt and pepper. Used a tinfoil pouch (that I just made by folding up the edges of a large piece) and roasted in a 375 degree oven for about 35-40 minutes. I like mine very soft and that works with this panini.

I found whole wheat panini bread and actually got out the good’ole George Foreman Grill for this!!

Assemble and grill on med-high for about five minutes.

The Hubs had TWO. Success. Thanks Pearson International Airport. Ya I just said that….weird….

