Gluten free vegan banana cake

I have a family emergency this week and have to fly to Toronto. Without much notice. And the Hubs will have to manage the Kid pretty much alone for five days. While every mother out there who has a husband and child(ren) just scoffed and laughed out loud, keep in mind that we do everything. Right? Plus my in laws are still cruising the west coast in the motor home and he usually has their help in the VERY rare instance where I am away from home. And by rare, I mean that ONE time. Sooooo…..

I decided I’d better use up the manky bananas before they became liquid goo and greeted me upon my return. I saw this recipe and thought I would give it a go since I have never made my own oat flour before! I loved it. The Kid wasn’t too keen on the walnuts, but hey, you just can’t please everybody right? The result is a vegan, gluten free, low sugar cake. I saw screw the Kid. What does he know. He’s barely four. Try the cake though. It is yum.

I should really point out that it’s really just banana bread in a 9×9 pan and would make a lovely loaf or muffins.

Vegan Gluten Free Banana Cake

3 ripe bananas
1/4 cup melted coconut oil or vegan butter
1 cup coconut sugar (maple sugar would have been nice too)
2 cups gluten free oat flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2-1 cup vegan chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts

Add two cups of gluten free oats to your blender or food processor. Keep pulsing until you get flour. Rocket science right? Or be even lazier than me (not sure if that’s actually possible but I suppose this would qualify) and buy it pre-ground.

Mash bananas. Add oil/butter and sugar. Mix well.
Mix the flour, salt, and baking soda together and add to the banana mixture. Mix until the flour is blended.
Mix in walnuts and chocolate chips.
Pour into a 9×9 glass dish. Muffin or loaf pan will work too but keep an eye as cooking time will vary and bake at 360 F until a toothpick comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Let cool, or eat pretty much right away because you are hungry and dinner isn’t ready yet and you don’t care if you burn your mouth a little…

