Major vegan win this week. I saw a recipe for a vegan ranch salad dressing and thought that it would be nice to have a big salad, George Costanza styles. A chopped salad to be exact. Here’s what I tossed in:

Vegan Chopped Salad

1 package of spring mix (ANY lettuce or blend of lettuces will be perfect for this)

1 cup (or so) of thinly sliced carrots

1/2 cup thinly sliced celery

1 cup cherry tomatoes, chopped in half

1 cup red, yellow and or orange peppers

1/2 cup diced cucumber

1 cup (canned in my lazy case) organic chickpeas (cooked if you are not lazy…)

1 diced ripe avacado

any other veggie that turns your crank!

I also tossed a handful of dried cranberries in mine as well.

vegan chopped salad

Here’s the dressing I used:

Vegan Ranch Salad Dressing

  • 1 cup vegan mayonnaise
  • 1/4 cup soy milk ( I left this out because I wanted something thicker)
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp fresh chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp fresh chopped dill or 1/4 tsp dried

The Hubs devoured this salad. It was filling and creamy and very satisfying. He even took the leftovers for lunch the next day. Always a sign of a huge hit in this house. Play around with this salad. Maybe some blanched green beans? Homemade croutons? Smoked tofu? Possibilities are endless. Use organic veggies in this one. It really makes a difference as many of the ones I used are on the Dirty Dozen. Enjoy!

