A very talented friend of mine is a professional photographer. She’s amazing. Her son also goes to preschool with the Kid so I invited her and her kids over for lunch one day after school recently. The deal was, I would make us lunch and she would give me a super quick lesson on how to use my fancy dancy new SLR! I figured 3 kids under 4 couldn’t really complain about pancakes and fruit salad so I went in that direction. I saw this recipe and thought, perfect! I even had enough forethought to roast the sweet potato the night before. Amazing right?? Go me. Sweet potato? Good! Whole wheat? Good! Fruit Salad? Good.

Look how beautiful this photo is. She took this one of course.

sweet potato pancakes

Make these. They aren’t super sweet so I needed some good ol’ maple syrup with them, but I’m from Ontario. It’s sacrilege to eat pancakes without maple syrup. What can I say.

I wish I was able to make the compote, because it looks and sounds amazing. Make them with or without. Just make them! I made a few tweaks to make them a teeeeny tiny bit healthier. I like my changes, but I’m sure the original are just as yummy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour or white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons coconut sugar (maple sugar would also work well here)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (I used almond)
  • 1 cup mashed sweet potato
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sparkling water (all I had was club soda)

Directions:

Whisk the dry ingredients together until well combined. In a small bowl, mix together the milk, sugar, sweet potato, vanilla and oil, whisk until smooth then pour over the dry ingredients. Pour the sparkling water over the mixture and mix everything together gently until it all just comes together. Do not overmix, little lumps are ok, over mixing will give you tough rubbery pancakes.

Lightly oil a pan or griddle and preheat to medium-low, when hot pour 1/3 or 1/2 cup scoop of the batter. After 3 to 4 minutes, when they start to bubble on top, flip over and cook for another 5 to 6 minutes. You may need to cook them longer due to the thick batter, check underneath before you remove them from the heat. Make them small. They are a lot of pancake even when small if you know what I mean!

