Somebody recently asked me if I blog about the recipe failures. Hmmm, not really I answered. Well now I do.

I love the idea of this recipe, and decided to try it out. I followed it pretty closely, but even with an extra 7 minutes of baking time, they were still pretty moist inside. I suppose it COULD have been the coconut oil and chocolate chips that threw it all off, but I seriously doubt it. Maybe I didn’t flatten them enough. Ah well. I did take them to lunch and the next day they were better for sure and the consensus was that I should have used the crunchy PB that the recipe called for.  I will try them again I think. Really smush them right down. Wish me luck!

vegan chickpea PB cookies

Veganized Peanut Butter Chickpea Cookies

250 ml (1 cup) canned chickpeas (half a 540-ml/19-oz can), rinsed and drained

150 ml (2/3 cup) coconut or maple sugar

50 ml (1/4 cup) vegan margarine or coconut oil, room temperature

1 ml (1/4 tsp) salt

equivalent of one egg (egg-replacer of your choice or you could probably just leave this out to be honest)

375 ml (1 1/2 cups) crunchy peanut butter

Spread chickpeas on a baking sheet (line the sheet with foil if you wish) and bake in a 180 C (350 F) oven for 12 to 15 minutes. (The chickpeas will darken very slightly but shouldn’t be getting crunchy on the edges.) Remove and set aside to cool.

In the bowl of a food processor, puree cooled chickpeas, sugar, butter substitute, salt and egg-replacer until as smooth as possible (a little texture from the chickpeas will remain). Transfer to a medium bowl and stir in peanut butter (the mixture will seem too soft at this point). Chill in refrigerator until dough stiffens considerably, at least an hour or overnight.

Drop golf ball-sized spoonfuls of chilled cookie dough onto a baking sheet, being sure to leave room for the cookies to spread. Flatten each cookie twice with the back of a fork, dipping the fork in cold water between each cookie to create a hatch pattern.

Bake one sheet at a time in a 180 C (350 F) oven for 12 to 15 minutes, until just starting to turn golden at the edges. Let cool on sheet for about 5 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack. The cookies will be very soft and fragile at first, but once cool they’ll have a chewy centre and crisp edges.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

 

