So deep down inside, I’m that girl would wants to eat fast food every day. Especially the vegan stuff from places like The Veggie Grill; man I could eat that stuff EVERY SINGLE day. Don’t judge me, I had a weird childhood.

But alas, being healthy is actually a priority. So I decided that I could kill two birds and make vegan corndog muffins since they would be a hit with the Kid since he’s been refusing meals left right and centre lately (oh Four years old, you’re so awesome!) and I knew he would eat them.

I found this recipe for the muffins, tweaked it every so slightly and cut vegan veggie dogs in half and just tossed half into each muffin wrapper.

vegan corndog muffins

Homemade fries too you ask?? Hells no. Those bad boys would be McCains 5 minute freezer bag french fries. It was a work day, cut me some slack. I even made cookies! More on those later this week.

The kid ate almost two full muffins, a massive serving of fries and his yellow peppers. MAJOR SCORE.

The Hubs ate them. Made a snarky comment about how they would be amazing with real hot dogs in them to which I replied something about “real” hot dogs being made of Lips and A**holes. He shut up after that.

Try these. They are fun and yummy and EASY. Who doesn’t like easy????

Vegan Cornbread muffins

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup whole-wheat pastry flour (only had white pastry flour. ah well You could easily make these Gluten Free with an alternative flour.)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup applesauce

1 cup soy milk

1/2 cup agave nectar (I didn’t realize I was out, so I used an equal amount of raw honey)

1/4 cup canola oil

Directions

1.     Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Lightly grease a muffin pan.

2.     Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl; stir in the applesauce, soy milk, and agave nectar. Slowly add the oil while stirring. Pour the mixture into the muffin pan.

3.     Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick or small knife inserted in the crown of a muffin comes out clean, 15 to 20 minutes.

