I love me a good take out. I do not love me a muffin top. So in efforts to veggie-fy and healthy up some favorite dishes I decided to make one of our favorites, pineapple curry fried rice. A recent trip to my happy place Trader Joes landed me with a package of vegan spring rolls. That sounded like a perfect Sunday dinner to me!

Here’s the his and hers since the Hubs really wanted egg in his (baby steps people…) so I added that in.

vegan pineapple fried rice

All you need is:

3-4 Cup cooked long grain brown or brown basmati rice (follow the directions on the package or if you are even lazier than me, buy it cooked)

1 Cup diced fresh pineapple

1 Cup mixed frozen veg (I used a blend of carrots, peas, corn and green beans)

1 Package of Gardein Mandarin Orange Crispy Chick’n (optional if you aren’t a fan or do gluten free)

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce

1 Tbsp oil

1 tsp minced garlic

2 tsp mild curry powder (or go for the hot if you like more heat. I was hoping the kid would partake so kept it mild)

1/2 cup low salt roasted cashews

Cook the Chick’n as per the directions or in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes.

Heat oil in a pan and cook the garlic for a few minutes. Toss in the veggies, rice and sauce/curry powder. Stir. Add the Chick’n. Stir.

Place in a bowl. Toss on the cashews. Eat.

Hubs finished his and asked if there was more. Score! He was out of luck. Will make more next time I guess! Will add some sliced green onion next time too I think.

The spring rolls were just okay. Not bad. Just not fabulous. Their frozen pakoras on the other hand….

