Isn’t it beautiful?

I love a good muffin. Okay, I love ALL carbs. So of course, the kid loves carbs too. He most certainly comes by it naturally. Kid could and would eat toast for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Can you blame him really?

I had a couple of manky looking bananas that needed to be used stat so I decided to make some muffins. Muffins are the perfect vessel in which to hide, I mean add, okay no I mean hide, veggies. Zucchini is an easy one. I muddled together a bunch of recipes which can be a risk with baking but these little beauties were super forgiving and turned out amazing. I’m pretty sure I ate four that evening. Sigh. I need that 12 step program for carb junkies. Make them though. They were literally the perfect muffin.

Vegan Banana Zucchini Muffins

1 cup grated zucchini (leave the liquid in, helps with moisture)
2 over-ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup coconut oil
3/4 cup maple or coconut sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 tablespoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup vegan mini chocolate chips, optional (but why leave them out?)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease or use parchment liners in a 6-muffin pan.
Stir zucchini, bananas, oil, sugar, and vanilla together.
Sift together the flour, baking soda and powder, cinnamon and salt. Add to the wet ingredients and stir well.
Scoop batter into muffin tin and bake for 30 minutes.

Devour. Wait a few minutes, those chocolate chips are like tiny bits of molten lava!

