I believe his exact words were, “I really like this one, it’s Blog-worthy”

Score!

Who would have thought that vegan chowder and “bread” would be the big winner? No moi.

I found this vegan chowder and thought that the hubs would like it, and my best friend had suggested I try this “falafel bread” that she learned to make while doing an internship with Meghan Telpner in Toronto. I figured it might be a nice match and gave it a go.

Both were amazing! I think that falafel is the wrong word for this “bread” and that given it has no falafel type spices and actually has curry powder, I think something like spiced chickpea flatbread would perhaps be a better description since it’s neither falafel nor bread like.

Either way, we both loved the soup and bread and he even got the kid to eat 3/4 of a bowl!!! That rarely happens at dinner time. Unless it’s the basic crap he loves. Think bunny pasta and Gardein “chicken” tenders.

The hubs thought that my version was a bit thick and would like a bit more liquid next time and I think I would add about a cup of celery as well.

Oyster Mushroom Chowder, adapted from Awesomeveganrad.wordpress.com

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt (I used kosher, if you’re using a finer salt, start with 1/2 tsp and add more at the end if needed)

1 tsp freshly cracked black pepper

2 cup red or Yukon gold potatoes
1 cup carrots, diced small

1 cup onion, diced small

3 large garlic cloves, minced

1 red bell pepper, diced small (or 2 teensy red bell peppers, which is what I had on hand)

3-4 cups oyster mushrooms, roughly chopped (I used half oyster and half cremini)

1 Tbsp kelp powder (I didn’t have this so I just left it out)

1/4 tsp celery seed (could only find celery salt and it worked fine)

1 Tbsp nutritional yeast

2 Tbsp soy sauce

3 cups plain, unsweetened almond milk

1 cup low sodium veg stock

 

Place a large soup pot over medium heat and add the potatoes, olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Keep the 1 cup of stock nearby to add in small amounts just in case things start to stick to the bottom of the pot as you go.   Stir well, then add the rest of the veggies as you chop them, stirring as you add them.  Next, add the kelp powder (if you’re so inclined) and celery seed and keep stirring occasionally and adding splashes of stock as necessary until the veggies are fork tender.  Once they are, add the soy sauce, nutritional yeast, and almond milk.  Using an immersion blender, blend about 1/3 of the soup.  You want it to be smooth, but with nice chunks of potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms still floating around.  If you don’t have an immersion blender, transfer some of the soup to a blender like I did. Maybe it’s time for a decent immersion blender….

Give it a taste and adjust the seasonings to your liking. Almost makes winter here in the cold wet north west bearable. Almost….

 

Vegan and Gluten Free “Falafel Bread”

2 cups cooked chickpeas or fava beans or 1 can (19oz) chickpeas (or fava beans) drained and rinsed

2 Tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice

1 Tbs curry powder

1 tsp sea salt

2 Tbs olive oil

1 Tbs flaxseed, ground mixed with 1/4 cup water or vegan egg replacer equivalent to one egg

1 cup coarsely grated zucchini or yellow summer squash

1 cup carrot grated

1/2 cup veggie of choice (I didn’t actually add anything else but next time I might slip in something green)

1/2 cup toasted chickpea flower or brown rice flour (I didn’t toast mine, and it was still great)

1/2 tsp baking powder

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400.

In food processor, process chickpeas, lemon juice, curry powder, sea salt and olive oil for 30 seconds or until smooth. Transfer to a bowl.

Stir flax/water mix into chickpea puree and mix well. Stir in zucchini, carrots and other veg.

Mix in flour and baking powder.

Spread out mix on a parchment paper lined baking sheet.

Bake for 25-35 minutes, until feels dry on top. Mine needed about 30 minutes.

Allow to cool slightly and cut into squares or wedges

 

