Who could resist?

I love Halloween. Have I mentioned that yet? I’m a sucker for sugar. I always have been, and probably always will be. I am well aware that all my favorites have gelatin in them, and while I don’t buy marshmallows with animal gelatin, I do, on occasion have candy with it. I’m weak. Forgive me.

But I did make the kid some fabulous little vegan carrot muffins and MacGuyver-ed a vegan cream cheese frosting to put on them.

I made them mini muffins and called them cupcakes since he is more likely to mow down cupcake than a muffin, but who are we kidding, these are super healthy and were delicious. They are moist and light and quite lovely.

Yes, I added candy corn, but tis the season!!!

Leave them off. Use something else. Whatever floats your boat!

Sprinkles would be nice, or even some sweetened shredded coconut.

Vegan Mini Carrot Muffins

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup maple sugar

1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour (or whole wheat pastry flour should work too)

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/8 cup coconut oil

1 tablespoon raw honey

1 cup grated organic carrots (one really big one or two medium ones)

1/2 cup crushed fresh pineapple including juice

Directions:

In a small bowl mix baking powder and applesauce into a foamy mixture, set aside.

In large bowl mix flour, sugar baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt; mix.

Add oil, honey, carrots, pineapple with the juice, and applesauce mixture.

Mix well

Add nuts, raisins, or dried cranberries if you like, I added about half a cup of raisins.

Scoop mixture into cupcake liners.

Bake at 325°F for 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

For the Frosting:

1/2 cup soy based cream cheese

1/2 cup earth balance

1 cup vegan icing sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Cream all ingredients, frost. I ran out of piping bags so I used the good old baggie trick. Just fill a baggie and snip one tiny corner off. Done!

