I LOVE Halloween. LOVE. A holiday dedicated to dressing up and getting free candy. LOVE.

When I saw these cookies on Babble this week I knew I was going to make them.

I am however,  one of those lame-o mommies/wives that tries to make EVERYTHING healthier. When I discovered that Trader Joe’s made white whole wheat flour I did a little happy dance and was all over that stuff like a pig on.. well you know.

The Kid loves “helping” me make anything in the kitchen, but I use the word “help” VERY loosely. So at the time of year when we are surrounded by candy and chocolate I thought, why not make cookies. Makes sense right?

I didn’t change much of the original recipe, but I did use my handy dandy white whole wheat flour and as I didn’t want to open a whole can of pumpkin I used Trader Joe’s pumpkin butter instead.

Be careful with sprinkles. MOST are not vegan. I’m not going to lie, these may not have been either, but they looked good and I did skim the ingredient list and nothing jumped out at me. But they probably were NOT. Did I mention that I’m about 90% vegan and 10% totally lazy???

Make the cookies.

Vegan Halloween Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
makes approximately 2 dozen (unless you’re like me an always make cookies too big….don’t judge me)

dry:
2 1/2 cups white flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

wet:
2/3 cup water

2-3 Tbsp canned pumpkin
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup brown sugar (break up any clumps by melting into warmed vegan butter)
1/2 cup vegan butter, melted/warmed in microwave
2 Tbsp maple
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter, room temperature

fold-in:
1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

topping: Halloween sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350.
Sift together dry ingredients. Fold in the wet ingredients. Lastly, fold in the chocolate chips and the optional egg replacer. Adjust with a few spoonfuls of flour if the dough is too sticky to hand roll into balls. Otherwise, you can chill dough in fridge or freezer for easier handling.
Bake cookies for 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees. Cool on a rack.

