Tuscan Inspired Kale Soup

People ask me ALL the time: “How do you cook for your family when you don’t eat meat or dairy and your hubs is a meatatarian?”

The truth is, I didn’t. But this fall the hubs decided that he wanted to eat a little healthier and the easiest way to do that would be to just eat what I was cooking for me and the kid. So the gauntlet was thrown down and off I went trying to find things that he would eat and actually like that were totally veg. For the sake of full disclosure, there are some recipes that lend themselves to the addition of meat (in his mind, NOT MINE!) and that has become an integral part of my cooking. Mostly because I would still rather cook a meal and will suck it up if he wants to add some shrimp or chicken. Not because I think he should be eating meat, but because I’m not hallucinating and am fully aware that he is highly unlikely to ever go fully veg. Okay, he is never going to become a vegetarian unless something magical happens. I’m waiting people. Send me some magic!!

In the meantime, we are enjoying this little foodie adventure.

I begin with one of his favorites. Totally vegan and super hearty and delish.

I hope you and yours enjoy it as much as we do. It’s part of our regular winter rotation.

The Soup

1 Tbsp EVOO (or oil of your choice)

1 large white or yellow onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, crushed or minced

1 can organic whole Roma tomatoes, crushed by hand (more on this later)

1 large head of organic kale, any variety will do, leaves ripped into small bite sized pieces (discard the tough stems, they aren’t edible)

1.5 litres (those tetra pak style boxes are good) organic low sodium veg stock (or if you are super human, home made veg stock would be amazing)

6-8 crimini (brown) organic mushrooms, chopped

1 can (or one cup cooked) organic cannellini beans

2 Tbsp herbs de provence

Salt and pepper to taste

Red pepper flakes (optional but if you are heat averse, just add a tiny bit, it really adds to the flavour of the soup)

Cook your onion in the EVOO on medium heat until translucent (4-5 minutes) and add in the garlic and cook another few minutes. Add your tomatoes (I just dig into the can and crush them over the soup pot but if you aren’t afraid of an extra dirty dish, it’s probably easier to just do it in a bowl) and then the kale and cover with stock. Bring to a boil and then add everything else except for the pepper flakes. Lower to a simmer and cook covered for approximately 20-30 minutes or until the mushrooms and kale and nice and soft. Keep and eye on the liquid level and add stock as required to get your preferred viscosity.

Fill your bowl, add a few dashes of red pepper flakes and enjoy. If you’re like me, you won’t wait until the soup is a reasonable temperature and just eat it scalding hot. If you’re like the hubs, you will wait a few minutes and actually taste your food.

